Doolittle’s Raiders in China

On April 18, 1942, 16 B-25s under the command of General James Doolittle avenged the attack on Pearl Harbor. The Doolittle Raid struck a hugs psychological blow to the Empire of Japan. Doolittle’s Raiders had to launch their raid hundreds of miles early, and the Doolittle Raiders believed there was a good chance they would have to ditch in the ocean. Doolittle’s Raiders caught a fortunate tail wind and made it to mainland China. Several of the Doolittle Raiders’ B-25s crashed off the shore of the province where I used to work in China. Doolittle’s crew bailed out near Tianmushan Mountain, also near where I used to live. And many of the other Doolittle Raiders’ B-25s crashed into the mountains around modern day Quzhou, the target airfield for the Doolittle Raiders to land. My wife and I did field research of those planes – #3 and #14 (in the order of takeoff).

Free Book on Sunday – April 18.

The story of the Doolittle’s Raiders in China is little known. I am posting my book “When Thunder Comes” for free on the anniversary of the Doolittle Tokyo Raid – April 18. I have always been a lover of peace and would like people to know more about how the American and Chinese people worked together during WWII. I met many wonderful people whose family helped evacuate the Doolittle Raiders back in 1942. I will never forget them.

If you would like to see some of the photographs of my research, you can visit the following link on my website.

http://cewheeler.art/raiders/

If you read the book and would like to know more about this incredible harrowing time you can leave a comment below. Consider buying the book and leaving a review if you enjoyed the amazing story of the Doolittle Raiders and their Chinese rescuers.

Published by cewheeler

Writer/Artist:12 years in China – univ. lecturer: writing,poetry,culture; editor – magazine/newspaper & actor. 40 years students of the Tao. Traveler. Father. Read my books at: amazon.com/author/wheelerce